Team Leader
Takemasa Miyoshi
Research Scientist
Koji Terasaki
Research Scientist
Shigenori Otsuka
Research Scientist
Ting-Chi Wu
Special Postdoctoral Researcher
Takumi Honda
Postdoctoral Researcher
Kohei Takatama
Postdoctoral Researcher
James Taylor
Postdoctoral Researcher
Arata Amemiya
Postdoctoral Researcher
Maha Mdini
Postdoctoral Researcher
Shun Ohishi
Postdoctoral Researcher
Yasumitsu Maejima
Postdoctoral Researcher
Jianyu (Richard) Liang
Postdoctoral Researcher
ATM Sakiur Rahman
Technical Staff
Hideyuki Sakamoto
Technical Staff
Takahisa Ishimizu
Junior Research Associate
Qiwen Sun
Research Part-time Worker
Naohiro Tsuzu
Prediction Science Laboratory
Research Scientist
Iyan Mulia
Prediction Science Laboratory
Postdoctoral Researcher
Ken Furukawa
Prediction Science Laboratory
Postdoctoral Researcher
Tianfeng Hou
Senior Visiting Scientist
John C. Wells
Senior Visiting Scientist
Shu-Chih Yang
Senior Visiting Scientist
Serge Richard
Visiting Scientist
Juan Ruiz
Visiting Scientist
Yohei Sawada
Visiting Scientist
Pierre Tandeo
Visiting Scientist
Keichi Kondo
Visiting Scientist
Atsushi Okazaki
Visiting Scientist
Shunji Kotsuki
Visiting Scientist
Hazuki Arakida
Visiting Scientist
Hironori Arai
Visiting Scientist
Tobias Necker
Yukie Komori
Saeko Imano
Sakiko Tashiro
Aki Mukunoki

Past Member

  • Shunji Kotsuki: Postdoctoral Researcher/Researcher (January 2014 - October 2019)→Center for Environmental Remote Sensing, Chiba University
  • Hazuki Arakida: Technical Staff (November 2013 - October 2019)→ Hydro Technology Institute Co., Ltd.
  • Hironori Arai: Postdoctoral Researcher (April 2019 - September 2019)→ Centre national d'etudes spatiales (JSPS Overseas Research Fellowships)
  • Marimo Ohhigashi: Research Part-time Worker/Technical Staff (September 2013 - September 2019)→ Nintendo Co., Ltd.
  • Kenta Kurosawa: Research Part-time Worker/Technical Staff (October 2016 - August 2019)→ University of Maryland
  • Atsushi Okazaki: Postdoctoral Researcher/Special Postdoctoral Researcher (April 2016 - May 2019)→ Pennsylvania State University
  • Taeka Awazu: Technical Staff (April 2016 - October 2018)
  • Rie Deguchi: Assistant (October 2013 - October 2018)
  • Guo-Yuan Lien: Postdoctoral Researcher (July 2014 - July 2018)→ Central Weather Bureau, Taiwan
  • Kuki Kuniya: Assistant (April 2016 - May 2018)
  • Ayumi Kikawa: Assistant (September 2017 - March 2018)
  • Hitomi Mori: Assistant (October 2017 - March 2018)
  • Toshiki Teramura: Postdoctoral Researcher (June 2016 - January 2018)
  • Keiichi Kondo: Postdoctoral Researcher (April 2014 - November 2017) → Meteorological Research Institute
  • Yohei Sawada: Postdoctoral Researcher (April 2016 - March 2017) → Meteorological Research Institute
  • Miho Ono: Assistant (October 2016 - March 2017)
  • Gulanbaier Tuerhong: Technical Staff (May 2014 - May 2016)
  • Africa Perianez Santiago: Research Associate (December 2014 - June 2015)

Past Visiting Scientist

  • Shlok Mohta: Visiting Technician (December 2020 - September 2021)
  • Steve Penny: Visiting Scientist (February 2014 - March 2020) ←University of Maryland
  • Shohei Takino: Visiting Scientist (April 2014 - December 2019) ←TEPCO
  • Guo-Yuan Lien: Visiting Scientist (August 2018 - March 2019) ←Central Weather Bureau, Taiwan
  • Hironori Arai: Visiting Scientist (June 2018 - March 2019) ←University of Tokyo
  • Kozo Okamoto: Visiting Scientist (October 2014 - March 2019) ←Meteorological Research Institute
  • Michiko Otsuka: Visiting Scientist (July 2014 - March 2019) ←Meteorological Research Institute
  • Shin-ichiro Shima: Visiting Scientist (April 2014 - March 2019) ←University of Hyogo
  • Masaru Kunii: Visiting Scientist (April 2014 - March 2017) ←Japan Meteorological Agency
  • Masahiro Sawada: Visiting Scientist (May 2013 - April 2014) ←Meteorological Research Institute

Student Intern and Trainee

Fiscal Year 2021

  • Audrey Gonzalo: IMT Atlantique (master's student)

Fiscal Year 2020

  • Kota Takeda: Kyoto University (master's student)
  • Noboru Isobe: Tokyo University (master's student)
  • Futo Tomizawa: Tokyo University (master's student)
  • Minglu Zhao: Tohoku University (master's student)

Fiscal Year 2019

  • Yanqing Shen: University of Iowa (doctral student)
  • Tomoki Iwakiri: University of Tokyo (doctral student)
  • Shlok Mohta: University of Tokyo (master's student)
  • Qiwen Sun: Nagoya University (master's student)

Fiscal Year 2018

  • Aulia Febianda ANWAR TINUMBANG: Kyoto University (master's student)
  • Huynh Viet Phi: Eurecom (master's student)
  • Andrew Pensoneault: University of Iowa (doctral student)
  • Tobias Necker: LMU (master's student)

Fiscal Year 2017

  • Takuya Ganeko: Kyoto University (master's student)
  • Krishnamoorthy Chandramouli: Indian Institute of Technology (doctoral student)
  • Takuya Kurihana: University of Tsukuba (master's student)
  • Sam Hatfield: University of Oxford (doctoral student)
  • Taiga Shibata: University of the Ryukyus (master's student)
  • Stefan Geiss: Ludwig-Maximilians-Universitat Munchen (master's student)
  • Cheng Da: University of Maryland (doctoral student)
  • Paula Maldonado: Universidad de Buenos Aires (doctoral student)

Fiscal Year 2016

  • Arata Amemiya: University of Tokyo (master's student)
  • Stefan Geiss: Ludwig-Maximilians-Universitat Munchen (master's student)

Fiscal Year 2015

  • Syunpei Terauchi: University of Tsukuba (master's student)
  • Yaping Chang: University of Chinese Academy of Sciences (master's student)

Fiscal Year 2014

  • Ryota Kikuchi: Tohoku University (doctoral student)
  • Yoshikazu Kitano: Hokkaido University (doctoral student)
  • Yusuke Taniguchi: University of Hyogo (master's student)

Fiscal Year 2012 - 2013

  • Keiichi Kondo: University of Tsukuba (doctoral student)

Working with us

Please contact us if you are interested in working on cutting-edge data assimilation research.

Concerns about living in Japan? RIKEN has support for non-Japanese scientists.

Data Assimilation Research Team

7-1-26, Minatojima-minami-machi, Chuo-ku, Kobe, Hyogo 650-0047, Japan
RIKEN Center for Computational Science (R-CCS) Data Assimilation Research Team

E-mail: da-team-desk(please remove here)

Back to Top